Main Dish ~ Sicilian Chicken

sicilian-chicken-ck-1654690-x

This is my first post!  I love to cook healthy meals and experiment with new recipes in the kitchen.  I prefer to use other people’s recipes to give me a starting point and then modify the recipes from there.  I will always give credit to the original source.

Sicilian Chicken ~ http://www.myrecipes.com/recipe/sicilian-chicken-10000001654690/ ~ is a recipe I discovered while looking through an old Cooking Light magazine from September 2007.  This one was in a section entitled Superfast, which caught my eye.  It was a fairly quick dish to put together with minimal preparation.
The combination of the sweet/salty flavors from the olives, golden raisins and balsamic vinegar, plus the different contrasting textures, made this recipe a wonderful surprise from the first bite forward.  I prepared the recipe as shown and used all the ingredients listed, except for the modifications below:
1 ~ the Sicilian Olives.  I couldn’t find any in the store, so I went with their suggested substitution of Spanish manzilla olives.
2 ~ the type of canned tomatoes.  I used a can of Hunt’s Fire Roasted Diced Tomatoes with Garlic.  This tomato blend perfectly complemented the other ingredients in the recipe.
I served this with a side of vegetables and it was delicious, but I am sure it would be further enhanced with the addition of the orzo pasta shown in the picture or with some brown rice.
The PointsPlus value per serving is 7.  Try it if you dare ~ you might be pleasantly surprised.
Leave a Reply

