Main Dish ~ Maple-Mustard Pork Chops with Winter Squash Puree

Mustard-Pork-Chops-with-Winter-Squash-Puree
Maple-Mustard Pork Chops with Winter Squash Puree ~ http://www.culinarycovers.com/2010/03/maple-mustard-pork-chops-w-winter-squash-puree/ ~ is a find from the March 2010 issue of Cooking Light Magazine.  These pork chops were delicious ~ very moist, with a really flavorful sauce.

I opted not to make the Winter Squash Puree with it.  Instead, I choose to cook a sweet potato.  After cleaning the large (6-1/2 oz) sweet potato, I stabbed it a few times with a fork, then put it in a Pampered Chef microwavable steamer with about 1/4 cup of water.  After 9 minutes in the microwave, it was done to perfection.  I topped the sweet potato with 2 tablespoons of Fage Total 0% Non-Fat Greek Yogurt (0 PointsPlus value), mixed with abit of the Maple-Mustard sauce.  I thought this was a fantastic combo.
The PointPlus value per serving for the Pork Chop portion is 7.   The PointsPlus value of the sweet potato I used was 5.  Lower PointsPlus alternatives might be to use the Winter Squash Puree from the recipe at 3 PointsPlus per serving, or use rice.  I find sweet potatoes filling and satisfying, so 5 PointsPlus is acceptable to me, especially when I have a few extra activity or weekly points available.
Leave a Reply

