Main Dish ~ Lentil-Barley Burgers with Fiery Fruit Salsa (Vegetarian)

lentil-barley-burgers-ck-x

Lentil-Barley Burgers with Fiery Fruit Salsa (http://www.myrecipes.com/recipe/lentil-barley-burgers-with-fiery-fruit-salsa-10000001964003/) was a Cooking Light Magazine find from March 2010.  It was VERY labor-intensive, but I reduced that by preparing it in stages, when I had time available.

STAGE 1:

I first prepared the salsa and refrigerated it.

I then measured out all the remaining ingredients out for the burgers, mixing those together that would be added at the same time, then covering and placing those items in the fridge that shouldn’t be left out at room temperature for too long.

NOTE: I used ketchup in place of tomato paste as it seem like a waste to open a can for such a small amount.

Instead of 2 large egg whites and 1 whole large egg that was called for, I used 3 whole large eggs ~ actually 6 because I doubled the recipe.  One reviewer indicated this helped keep it from falling apart.  It was still somewhat difficult to deal with getting it into the pan to cook.

As stated above, I doubled this recipe.  My plans are to freeze the remainder of the cooked patties for an easy dinner later this season.

I used quick cooking barley and refrigerated it after it cooled as well.

STAGE 2:

I prepared the burger mix (steps 2 and 3 in the recipe), then refrigerated it overnight.

STAGE 3:

I formed 4 of the patties, and then had to push them off the side of the plate and form them again while in the pan.  The mixture was abit hard to work with.  I saved the rest of the mix to cook later.

This was very delicious, but a lot of work.  The salsa was a perfect complement to this dish.  I would like to figure out how to cook this up in “meatloaf form” as I think it would be much easier.  The result of all my labor was quite rewarding though! 🙂

Leave a Reply

