Main Dish ~ Edamame-Black Bean Chili (Vegetarian)

edamame black bean chili

This recipe was recommended to me by a friend of mine.  It is from her Weight Watchers Simply Solo Cookbook.  It is one of those easy recipes I love ~ chop and get everything measured out, then just a quick cook time on the stovetop to produce an amazing one dish meal.  I found this to be extremely satisfying/filling ~ it will be a wonderful dish to make for lunch or dinner when the colder weather arrives.  I have typed the instructions below as I couldn’t find anything on line for this.  With that being said, I followed the recipe below using the chicken broth option (with regular, not reduced sodium broth).  I tend to like things with just a bit more salt, so I added in about 1/4 teaspoon salt. I think next time I might try using my old standby for the tomatoes, Rotel brand Diced Tomatoes and Green Chilies (Mild), to give it a different flair.  This is a great mix and match recipe.

Please note ~ my picture doesn’t do this dish justice!  I had just stirred in the yogurt, which dulled the brightness of the freshly cooked ingredients.  The yogurt added in a nice dimension of creaminess and balanced out the flavors.  I also cut up a little avocado (about 1/8 of it) to add in there as well, which added another point to my dish, but I felt it was worth it!

UPDATE:  My favorite way to make this IS to use the Rotel brand Diced Tomatoes and Green Chilies (Mild) in place of the tomatoes listed below.  When I use this Rotel tomato blend, I DO NOT add in the chili powder or cumin.

Ingredients:

1 teaspoon canola oil

1 small onion, diced

1/2 red bell pepper, diced

1 garlic clove, minced

1/2 teaspoon chili powder

1/4 teaspoon cumin

1 cup canned diced fire-roasted tomatoes with green chilies

1/2 cup canned black beans, rinsed and drained

1/3 cup frozen shelled edamame

1/3 cup reduced-sodium vegetable or chicken broth

2 tablespoons plain fat-free Greek yogurt

1 tablespoon sliced scallion

1. Heat oil in skillet over medium-high heat.  Add onion and bell pepper. Cook, stirring occasionally, until vegetables are softened, 4-5 minutes. Add garlic, chili powder, and cumin; cook, stirring constantly, until fragrant, 30 seconds.

2. Add tomatoes, black beans, edamame, and broth; bring to boil. Reduce heat, cover, and simmer, stirring occasionally, until chili is slightly thickened, about 10 minutes. Serve chili topped with yogurt and scallion.

Per Serving (Serves 1): 314 calories, 8 grams total fat, 0 grams saturated fat, 0 grams trans fat, 0 mg. cholesterol, 590 mg. sodium, 45 grams carbohydrates, 14 grams sugar, 12 grams fiber, 16 grams protein, 167 mg. calcium

PointsPlus value = 7

Leave a Reply

