Main Dish ~ Easy Macaroni Casserole

Grandmas-Macaroni-Casserole

Easy Macaroni Casserole was first posted as my choice for Recipe of the Week for my Weight Watchers @ Work group in January 2014.  Below are my notes from the time:

This week’s recipe, Easy Macaroni Casserole ~ http://www.skinnytaste.com/2014/01/easy-macaroni-casserole.html ~ caught my eye because it contained pasta and melted cheese, the pasta didn’t need to be pre-cooked, and the descriptive cooking term “Easy” was in the name.

The chopping and measuring steps took a bit of time, but there was nothing difficult about making this recipe.  It calls for whole wheat elbow macaroni, but the recipe author indicates that any type and shape of pasta can be used.   I used the whole wheat fusilli pasta as that is what I had on hand.  I really enjoyed this recipe, but would advise that, if you do make it, be sure your marinara sauce (homemade or store-bought) is seasoned adequately, otherwise, the dish could turn out to be a bit bland.  I loved all the cheese on top and didn’t skimp on it, using the whole milk mozzarella.  In retrospect, next time I make this I will use the 99% fat free ground turkey breast, fat free mozzarella, and ensure that the store bought marinara has 2 grams or less of fat.  Doing so will ensure that the entire dish falls under the Simple Start guidelines ~ i.e., ZERO POINTS!

Leave a Reply

