Main Dish ~ Root Vegetable Minestrone with Bacon

root-vegetable-minestrone-bacon-ck-x
Root Vegetable Minestrone with Bacon was first posted as my choice for Recipe of the Week for my Weight Watchers @ Work group in March 2014. Below are my notes from the time:

A friend of mine brought this week’s recipe from Cooking Light Magazine to my attention a couple of weeks ago ~ Root Vegetable Minestrone with Bacon (http://www.myrecipes.com/recipe/root-vegetable-minestrone-bacon-50400000133660/). Since then I have made it twice. It is wonderful ~ a comforting and filling winter soup! It is easy to make with this caveat ~ purchase the pre-cut butternut squash if it is available. I found peeling and cubing the squash to be the most time consuming part of the recipe.

If you go to the effort of making this, I would recommend doubling it from the start. You won’t be sorry!

The recipe makes four 1-1/2 cup servings. I put the nutritional information through the online calculator and came up with 5 PointsPlus per serving.

Leave a Reply

