Side Dish ~ Ancho Chicken Tacos with Cilantro Slaw and Avocado Cream

ancho-chicken-tacos-ck-x

Ancho Chicken Tacos with Cilantro Slaw and Avocado Cream (http://www.myrecipes.com/recipe/ancho-chicken-tacos) is another Cooking Light find. This is an easy recipe to prepare and is DELICIOUS ~ this will be made again and again in my kitchen!

I couldn’t find the ancho chile powder in the store, so I just used a combination of regular chili powder and ground chipotle chile powder and added it to the other seasonings for the chicken.  Whatever combination of spices you like on your chicken tacos would work here.

When I first made the avocado cream, I didn’t think it had much flavor, so I added a bit of salt to it.  I later discovered the secret is to stir the avocado cream in with the coleslaw.  This ensures the flavors are blended and it spreads easily on the corn tortilla and keeps the coleslaw in place.  Also, my preference is to use the tri-color coleslaw (green cabbage, carrots, and red cabbage) as it has more crunch than the angel hair coleslaw called for in the recipe.

This is definitely my new favorite recipe!!

This has a Weight Watcher’s Points Plus value of 8 per 2 taco serving.  I used Fage Total 0% non-fat Greek yogurt in place of the sour cream, almond milk in place of the milk, and Mission Brand Extra Thin Yellow Corn Tortillas ~ these modifications did not alter the PointsPlus value.

Leave a Reply

