Main Dish ~ Split Pea Soup with Rosemary (Vegetarian)

03sesoupsp37-split-pea-soup-rosemary-m

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary ~ http://www.myrecipes.com/recipe/split-pea-soup-with-rosemary ~ is a perfect cold weather meal.  I made this according to the recipe with only three slight deviations: 1) I used ketchup in place of the tomato paste as I didn’t want to open a can of tomato paste for such a small amount needed, 2) I used the plain Fage Total 0% Greek Yogurt in place of the sour cream, and 3) I only blended half of the soup instead of the whole pot to retain some of the chunkiness of the vegetables.  This was delicious!  If you make it, be sure to use the fresh ~ not dried ~ herbs, and let it set overnight before enjoying.  It makes a huge difference in the overall flavor of the soup.  I think if I make it again, I will add all the herbs in the cooking process, and not raw at the end.  Chewing on an uncooked rosemary stalk detracted from the perfection of this recipe.

Leave a Reply

