Main Dish – Kale and Caramelized Onion Grilled Cheese (Vegetarian)

kale-caramelized-onion-grilled-cheese-ck-x
I have been cooking a lot of different recipes with kale lately, from soup to lasagna to my newest favorite find, Kale and Caramelized Onion Grilled Cheese (http://www.cookinglight.com/food/in-season/kale-recipes/kale-caramelized-onion-grilled-cheese). This is a veggie-packed upscale spin on the traditional grilled cheese sandwich.

I modified the recipe just a little and the results were outstanding. I did divide each of the ingredients by four to come up with a single size serving for my meal.

Here are the changes I made to each of the steps:

Step 1) I omitted heating up the oven as I did everything on the stovetop.
Step 2) I had purchased pre-chopped kale, so I put almost a cup of packed kale in for my single sized portion, then followed the instructions as shown.
Step 3) No changes to this step.
Step 4) This is where I made the biggest changes. I spread 1/2 tablespoon of Land O Lakes Light Butter with Canola Oil on the cooking side of my two pieces of bread. I used Milton’s All Natural Multi-Grain bread, one of my favorites. To a pan heated over medium heat, I placed one bread slice, buttered side down, and topped with kale, onion mixture and cheeses, the the other piece of bread, buttered side up. I placed a medium weight skillet over the sandwich to press it down, panini fashion. If you have a panini machine, this will be an even easier recipe to follow. Once the bread was browned, I carefully flipped it and browned the other side, continuing to use the skillet to weigh it down.

Let the baker beware…this version is 16 WW Points Plus, but so worth it for a special treat!

Leave a Reply

