Main Dish ~ Sardines with Sun Dried Tomato and Capers

953854

Since I discovered I am at the high and unhealthy range of the bad cholesterol scale, I have been reading up on all things cholesterol in order to figure out how to get my bad cholesterol readings down to healthier levels without the use of medication, in addition to bringing my good cholesterol levels up.  In doing so, I continued to read about how good sardines are for you.  They are ridiculously rich in omega-3 fatty acids. Omega-3’s not only lower LDL cholesterol, they’re also potent anti-inflammatories, and they significantly reduce blood levels of artery-clogging triglycerides.  Knowing this, I went in search of a good sardine recipe and found this, which had awesome reviews:   http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Sardines-with-Sun-Dried-Tomato-and-Capers/Detail.aspx?event8=1&prop24=SR_Thumb&e11=sardine&e8=Quick%20Search&event10=1&e7=Home%20Page&soid=sr_results_p1i3

I made it according to the recipe, but mashed up the sardines like canned tuna and mixed in the rest of the ingredients.  I also used 1/2 of the dried thyme called for as it can sometimes be overpowering.  I put the mixture on whole wheat toast.  The first bite took a minute for me to figure out if I liked it or not, but by the last bite of the sandwich, I felt this was a keeper!  It has a nice kick to it from the spices ~ although, it may be too spicy for some. I will definitely be making this again soon!

Leave a Reply

